Skip to content

Safety and the City

March 5, 2013

If only we lived in the fictional world of Sex and the City where Carrie can argue with her mugger over a pair of Manolo Blahniks… This scene came to mind when I considered how safe I felt on a girls’ night out in Seattle this past weekend. A friend and I left the bar early so that we wouldn’t be out too late with the “creepers” when a man came up to us and asked a series of inappropriate questions. We were faced with: Do we walk away? Do we ignore him? After he conveniently got on the next bus that arrived, I considered how fearful and how much my personal safely felt jeopardized. While I know that cities are not the safest places to live, they are particularly threatening for women. I don’t want my fear to keep me from going out and having fun, yet it is something that lingers in the back of my mind (i.e. How long will I have to wait at the bus stop? How long has that person next to me at the bus stop been there? Are they staring? Is my purse closed?)

I question this experience because the reality is different for men versus women. I can’t believe the number of conversations I’ve had with men who don’t believe that women are harassed or do not feel safe at night. Of course, I am not saying that everyone who looks at you is a potential mugger or creeper, but the fear is real for women because how do you know? How do you maintain that “safe feeling” without needing a man around when you are walking late at night? Even with a group of female friends, I feel that fear for my safety.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

